MALIA Spring Meeting Friday, May 31, 2013 Radford University

MINUTES

Members present: Lorraine Abraham (Emory & Henry College), Paula Alston (Montgomery-Floyd Regional Library), Amanda Bailey (Washington County Public Library), Lynn Baluh (Radford University), Lynne Bartlett (Tazewell County Public Library), Jane Caldwell (Emory & Henry College), Nan Carmack (Campbell County Public Library), Cindy Church (Library of Virginia), Jan Beck (West Davidson Public Library), Alison Crockram (New River Community College), Ann Duesing (UVA Wise), Jaime Duval (Radford Public Library), Todd Eastridge (Washington County Public Library), Patty Greany (Emory & Henry College), Pamela Hale (Christiansburg Library), Jody Hanshew (Emory & Henry College), Lisa Jett (Washington County Public Library), Teresa M. Jones (New River Community College), Janet Kirby (Emory & Henry College), Tonia Kestner (Washington County Public Library), Jackie Lohman (Washington County Public Library), Jami McDonald (Tazewell County Public Library), Sarah Murphy (Tazewell County Public Library), Carolea Newsome (University of Virginia's College at Wise), J. Sara Paulk (Wythe-Grayson Regional Library), Betty Pruett (Tazewell County Public Library), Elizabeth Sensabaugh (Blacksburg Library), Shannon Steffey (UVA Wise), Barbara Stepp (Blacksburg High School), Brack Stovall (Radford Public Library), Debbie Sweeney (Augusta County Library), Brenda Tester (Eastern Montgomery High School), Robert Turner (Radford University), Rick Ward (Blue Ridge Regional Library)

Call to order: The meeting was called to order at 10:12 a.m. President Barbara Stepp welcomed everyone and there was a short business meeting before the programs.

Minutes: The minutes from the March 22, 2013 meeting were approved.

Financial report: Treasurer Janet Kirby reported that the current balance is \$53,398.29. She also handed out copies of the 2013-2014 budget.

NEW BUSINESS

VALLA Scholarships:

A motion was made to sponsor a \$350 scholarship to the Virginia Library Leadership Academy. This motion was amended to add a second scholarship. The motion passed.

Election of Officers:

Officers were elected for the 2013-2015 term. There is still an opening for one At Large representative.

MALIA Officers for 2013-2015

President: Sara Paulk Vice-President/President Elect: Lorraine Abraham Secretary: Naydine Shenk Treasurer: Janet Kirby Past President: Barbara Step Membership: Cathy Hanshew Contract Administrator: Carolea Newsome

Other Executive Committee Members

Four-Year College Representative: Shannon Steffey – UVA Wise

Community College Representative: Sandy Smith – New River Community College

Public Library Representative: Paula Alston - Montgomery-Floyd Regional Library

School Library Representatives: Josh Frazier – Carroll County Public Schools Brenda Tester - Montgomery County Public Schools

At-Large Representative (North Carolina) Jan Beck – West Davidson Public Library

At-Large Representative (Virginia) ?

Children's MALiA President Amanda Bailey Washington County Public Library

Web Committee Chair Jody Hanshew – Emory & Henry College

Scholarship Committee Chair Stephen Vest - Botetourt

Program Committee Nan Carmack - Campbell County Public Library Brandi Porter – Ferrum University

Legislative VLA Quarterly Legislative Report (Tom Shepley, John Ulmschneider)

Adjournment

Jody Hanshew (Substituting for Naydine S. Shenk, Secretary)